BOOK REVIEW| A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson

Title: A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder (A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder #1) // Author: Holly Jackson

Date of publication: May 2nd 2019 by Electric Monkey// Print length: Paperback, 433 pages

You can buy this book from Amazon


The case is closed. Five years ago, schoolgirl Andie Bell was murdered by Sal Singh. The police know he did it. Everyone in town knows he did it.

But having grown up in the same small town that was consumed by the murder, Pippa Fitz-Amobi isn’t so sure. When she chooses the case as the topic for her final year project, she starts to uncover secrets that someone in town desperately wants to stay hidden. And if the real killer is still out there, how far will they go to keep Pip from the truth?

Trigger warnings: death, murder, violence, rape, kidnapping, death of an animal, drug use.

Diversity Tags: Ravi and his family are Arabs. The book also deals with rape, substance abuse, lies and all that good stuff.

Add to Goodreads


Rating: 5 out of 5.

Writing Quality 6/5, Character Development 6/5, ‘Couldn’t put it down’ – ness 6/5, Intellectual Depth 6/5,Originality 6/5, Overall 6/5.

Since the start of Daily Dose of Books, I kept seeing this book everywhere. A part of me didn’t want to read it, I don’t even know why, but in September 2020, A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder was the pick for one of my book clubs. It was the time to read it, and I have to say, I devoured it in two days and loved the living hell out of it.

“Pip wished she was strong enough, but she’d learned that she wasn’t invincible; she too could break.”

The trickiest part about this book is by far the review. This whole work is a huge spoiler, as a lot of things happen in each chapter. I will try my best to keep this review spoiler-free, but my mind is a huge mess.

“But sometimes remembering isn’t for yourself, sometimes you do it just to make someone else smile. Those lies were allowed.”

Let’s start by talking about the characters. Pipa Fitz-Amobi is the main character, and she is THE BEST! She’s smart, likeable, fun and does not take a no for an answer. She’s the best main character I have read about in a while, but her name always reminded me of Peppa Pig. Next off, we have Ravi who is the younger brother of Sal. Ravi helps Pipa throughout her investigation, and all I have to say about them is that you’ll love their dynamics. They’re great together, and maybe there’s going to be some chemistry too. I guess you have to read the book to find out more… Pipa’s family has a huge impact on the story, and you’ll love everything there’s to love about them. They are very supportive, and overall, they are a dream come true. There are many more, and you’ll learn all about them throughout the book.

“Your efficiency offends me.”

Something that made me love this book even more, was the format of the chapters. The book was structured in chapters, production logs and interviews. All of these elements made me feel like a true detective throughout the story. I used to dream of becoming one when I was a little kid, and this book feed my memories. Also, when you’re listening to the audiobook, there are different voice actors for each character, and that brings the story alive. If you have the means, I suggest listening to the book rather than reading it. Your experience will be ten times more memorable.

“The people you love weren’t algebra: to be calculated, subtracted, or held at arm’s length across a decimal point.”

This gal knows how to write a gripping story! The plot was excellent and so gripping, I couldn’t go to sleep until I finished the read. The action is easy to follow, it keeps you engaged, and it teaches you things you won’t get over easily.

“I’m not sure Im the good girl I once thought I was. I’ve lost her along the way”

There is only one thing that I am afraid when it comes to this book, and that is the sequel. This first book was amazing, but I can’t see how the next book will go on. Furthermore, a third book is in the making, and I am even more scared to think about it. I am afraid I won’t like the next two books as much as I liked the first one. I guess I shall wait and see.

“Pit bull,” Pip said. “It’s pit bulls that don’t let things go.”

Overall, this book represents a strong female character in a gripping story. This book is full of plot-twists, and it is amazing for young readers. I can’t recommend it enough!

“As if they think I don’t already know. I came out of the womb knowing how to do academic references.”

Holly Jackson started writing stories at a young age, completing her first (poor) attempt at a novel when she was fifteen. She graduated from the University of Nottingham, where she studied literary linguistics and creative writing, with a master’s degree in English. She enjoys playing video games and watching true-crime documentaries so she can pretend to be a detective. She lives in London. A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder is her debut novel.

Follow Holly on Twitter and Instagram at @HoJay92.

signature-fonts

Leave a comment